The East Avon Chemical Company was founded on August 26, 1926 by a group of residents. The company occupied what was the Davin Implement building at the four corners of East Avon. The alarm was a steel ring, originally being a tire from a steam locomotive, which would be struck by a large maul to alert the volunteers of an emergency. The first pumper truck was a built on a 1938 Ford chassis. Expansions to the company brought more trucks and new facilities, and a need for more water. The East Avon water tower was eventually built as a result of a petition circulated by the fire department.
Want to know more? The rich history of the East Avon Fire Department will be presented by Mary Morey. Do come!
Sunday October 6, 2019
Avon Village Hall
74 Genesee Street Avon, NY 14414
Free, open to the public, and handicap accessible. Light refreshments will be served. Donations are gratefully accepted to support future programs.